Beware

chechens die
leaders lie
market day
blown away
stocks arise
phaeroh’s flies
cops arrest
fools beat chest
talking heads
making beds
nails pierce
wrath is fierce

We say we’re in the know
We saw it on the show
It’s credible and true
But now I’m black and blue
The press of old GE
Creates the truth for me
But it can’t happen here
Somehow my judgement’s queer

Someone has met my needs
Skewered liberty bleeds

soon to fall
splattered wall
ginsberg speak
watchers peek
albright lied
peekers hide
slaves work cheap
vice runs deep
bums oppressed
work obsessed
nails pierce
wrath is fierce

I’m charged to watch the weak
The outlook remains bleak
I tread forth to the day
When justice is the way
So know then who you are
And pray not go too far
The danger in the head
Can make our living dead

Someone has met my needs
Skewered liberty bleeds

 

©1999 Dennis McClendon
Leave a Reply

